Connect with us
Key Takeaways: Dominate the digital landscape with and your go-to best SMM Panel in 2024 for affordable social media marketing solutions. Best Press release services in 2024 is Followersav and Smmsav boost your business with us. Smm panel organic spotify plays


Here are all the black world champions in WWE history

The Rock
Here Are All The Black World Champions in WWE history. Photo/ WWE.
  • WWE has had several world champions. However, the number of black world champions in Vince McMahon’s promotion has been quite small. 
  • There have been only 12 black world champions since the company came under the leadership of McMahon. 
  • However, black wrestlers have experienced success in winning tag team championships and other secondary titles. 

There have been many world champions in WWE history. However, the number of black world champions has been few despite the promotion existing since the 1980s. 

Vince McMahon’s company has a total of twelve black world champions; six men and six women. But to be fair, a good number of black wrestlers have achieved success winning tag team championships and other secondary titles. 

On top of that, numerous black WWE wrestlers have been inducted into the hall of fame despite not winning the World Championship. 

Ron Simmons, popularly known as Faarooq, is one of the notable black wrestlers in WWE’s hall of fame. The legendary wrestler won many titles in WWE. 

Among his titles, the WWE hall of famer won the world championship of now no longer existing competitor organization WCW. 

Without further ado, let’s look at all the black world champions in WWE history. 

1. The Rock

The Rock

The Rock. Photo/ WWE.

Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson is undoubtedly one of the greatest professional wrestlers of all time. The Rock has held ten world championships, including two WCW world titles. 

He won his tenth WWE world title in 2013 after defeating CM Punk but later lost it to John Cena at Wrestlemania XXIX. 

2. Bobby Lashley 

Bobby Lashley was not a star during the mid-2000s. However, he soon became a fan favourite and has since won the world championship twice. 

Bobby first won the title in March 2021 after defeating The Miz. He then won the title at Royal Rumble 2022 when he defeated Brock Lesnar. 

3. Booker T

Booker T is one of the most decorated black wrestlers in WWE. The legendary wrestler is a two-time world champion. 

Before winning the two world championships at WWE, he had won four in WCW, making him a six-time world champion overall. 

4. Kofi Kingston 

Kofi Kingston, one of the most entertaining wrestlers, is a one-time WWE world champion. He won the title in 2019 after defeating Daniel Bryan at Wrestlemania XXXV. 

The New Day member reigned for six months before losing the world championship to Brock Lesnar.

5. Mark Henry

Mark Henry is one of the strongest WWE superstars of all time. During his early career, the former Olympic weightlifter struggled to find a foot in WWE. 

However, he soon became an icon and won the WWE world championship in 2011. 

6. Big E

Big E joined the list of WWE’s black world champions in 2021 when he defeated Bobby Lashley on Raw to win the prestigious title.

Big E

Big E is one of the black world champions in WWE history. Photo/ Metro.

He reigned for over 100 days before losing the title to Brock Lesnar. 

7. Sasha Banks 

Sasha Banks is one of the most decorated female wrestlers of all time. The WWE superstar has won the SmackDown women’s championship once and the Raw women’s championship a record five times. 

The Boss’ most famous title wins have been during her fight with Charlotte Flair. 

8. Jacqueline 

Jacqueline is a two-time WWE world champion. She first won the title in 1998, then in 2000.

The decorated wrestler is in WWE’s hall of fame. 

9. Naomi 

Naomi is one of the black WWE world champions. The female wrestler has won the gold twice. 

She won her first title in 2017 after defeating Alexa Bliss on SmackDown. Naomi won her second world title at Wrestlemania XXXIII a few months later. 

10. Bianca Belair 

Bianca Belair made history when she defeated Sasha Banks to win SmackDown’s women’s world championship. 

However, she didn’t reign for long as she lost the title to Becky Lynch at SummerSlam 2021.

Bianca Belair

Bianca Belair. Photo/ EssentiallySports.

11. Alicia Fox

Alicia Fox is a one-time WWE world champion. The female wrestler won WWE’s divas championship in 2010 but reigned for just two months before losing the title to Melina at SummerSlam. 

12. Jazz

Jazz joined WWE after having successful spells at ECW. The legendary wrestler’s time at WWE saw two women’s championship reigns. 

She won her first world championship in 2002 after defeating Trish Stratus. Jazz lost the title to Trish a few months later before winning it back.  

Abraham Odhiambo is an avid sports fan who loves to write about football, boxing and wrestling. He's a big supporter of Manchester United. He's pursuing a bachelor's degree in Communication and Media at Egerton University.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Sports