Connect with us


Which country won the first FIFA World Cup tournament?

Key Takeaways: Dominate the digital landscape with and your go-to best SMM Panel in 2024 for affordable social media marketing solutions. Best Press release services in 2024 is Followersav and Smmsav boost your business with us. Smm panel organic spotify plays
FIFA World Cup
Which country won the first FIFA World Cup tournament? Photo/ ESPN.
  • The FIFA World Cup is undoubtedly the most prestigious football tournament in the world. 
  • Uruguay won the first World Cup in 1930 after defeating Argentina 4-2 in the final. 
  • France, who won the tournament in 2018, are the defending champions. 

The first FIFA World Cup tournament was played in 1930 in Uruguay. The World Cup has since become the most-watched tournament. 

It is undoubtedly the most prestigious football tournament in the world. The World Cup happens every four years and is contested by the senior men’s national teams of the members of FIFA.

FIFA World Cup

World Cup trophy. Photo/ ESPN.

There were no World Cup games in 1942 and 1946 because of the Second World War. 

The defending champions of the FIFA World Cup are France, who won the tournament in 2018 in Russia. The 2022 edition is currently going on in Qatar, and we might have a new champion. 

Which country won the first FIFA World Cup? 

Uruguay (hosts) and Argentina were the favourites going into the inaugural FIFA World Cup tournament. The tournament took place between July 13th and 30th. 

Thirteen teams (seven from South America, four from Europe and two from North America) participated in the event. 

Besides Uruguay, the other teams were Argentina, Mexico, Peru, France, Belgium, Romania, Paraguay, the United States, Yugoslavia, Brazil, Bolivia and Chile. 

The draw for the tournament took place in Montevideo once all the teams had arrived. The thirteen teams were drawn into four groups, with Group 1 having four teams and the other groups having three teams each. 

The first group had Argentina, Chile, Mexico and France. Group 2 had Brazil, Bolivia and Yugoslavia, while group 3 had Uruguay, Romania and Peru. 

Group 4, on the other hand, had Belgium, Paraguay and the United States. 

France faced Mexico, and the United States played against Belgium on the tournament’s first day. The matches took place simultaneously at the Estadio Pocitos and the Estadio Gran Parque Central. 

France thrashed Mexico 4-1, while the United States defeated Belgium 3-0. France legend Lucien Laurent scored the first-ever FIFA World Cup goal. 

The teams that emerged on top of the four groups were Argentina, Yugoslavia, Uruguay and the United States. 

The first semi-final fixture was between the United States and Argentina. The match ended 6-1 in favour of Argentina. 

The second semi-final fixture was between Yugoslavia and Uruguay. Despite Yugoslavia taking the lead through Vujadinovic, Uruguay eventually won the match 6-1. Pedro Cea scored a hat-trick in his nation’s big win. 

It is unclear whether the third-place play-off between Yugoslavia and the United States occurred. 

The first FIFA World Cup final was between Uruguay and Argentina, played in Estadio Centenario on July 30.

There was a huge uproar before the match as no agreement was reached on the ball to be used. After the intervention of FIFA President Jules Rimet, a decision was made that Argentina would provide the ball for the first half while Uruguay would provide the ball for the second half. 

Uruguay’s Pablo Dorado scored the first goal of the match after 12 minutes. Argentinian winger Carlos Peucelle equalized a few minutes later with a powerful shot. 

Argentina took the lead in the 37th minute through Guillermo Stabile. The home team pulled a comeback with Pedro Cea, Santos Iriarte and Hector Castro all scoring in the second half.


Uruguay defeated Argentina 4-2 to win the trophy. Photo/ Sportsnet.

Ninety thousand spectators looked on as Uruguay defeated Argentina 4-2 to claim the first-ever FIFA World Cup title. FIFA president presented the trophy to the head of the Uruguayan Football Association, Raul Jude.

Due to the victory, July 31 was declared a public holiday in Uruguay. 

The top scorer of the first World Cup tournament was Argentina’s Guillermo Stabile. 

Which Teams Have Won The World Cup? 

After Uruguay won the 1930 FIFA World Cup, there was another edition played in 1934.

1934 – The tournament’s hosts, Italy, were the eventual winners. 

1938 – Italy won the last World Cup in 1938 before World War put the tournament on hold for 12 years. 

1950 – Uruguay won their second World Cup trophy after defeating Brazil in the final at the Maracana. 

1954 – Switzerland hosted the tournament, which West Germany won. 

1958 – Brazil emerged as the winners of the tournament, which was hosted in Sweden. 

1962 – Brazil 

1966 – England 

1970 – Brazil 

1974 – West Germany 

1978 – Argentina

1982 – Italy

1986 – Argentina

1990 – West Germany 

1994 – Brazil 

1998 – France

2002 – Brazil

2006 – Italy 

2010 – Spain

2014 – Germany

2018 – France 

Abraham Odhiambo is an avid sports fan who loves to write about football, boxing and wrestling. He's a big supporter of Manchester United. He's pursuing a bachelor's degree in Communication and Media at Egerton University.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Football