Connect with us


Has any Soccer team won the quadruple? History of four-trophy attempts and is the Cheapest and Best SMM Panel company that provides advertising, marketing, and promotional services in 2024. Smm panel best Smm panel Smm panel best Smm panel casino Script Buy Casino Backlinks Buy Casino Backlinks Casino SEO
Jordan Henderson
Liverpool's hopes for a quadruple were shattered when Man City claimed the Premier League title. Photo: Sporting News
  • Winning a quadruple is exceptionally difficult and has proven to be somehow impossible in modern football
  • Liverpool was close to winning the quadruple, but their hopes were shattered when Man City defeated Villa to take away the Premier League title
  • To win a quadruple, a team must win four major trophies in one season; a Premier League trophy, FA Cup, League Cup, and Champions League
  •  Celtic of Scotland managed to win the quadruple in 1966-67

Liverpool is the most dominant team in English football in terms of major trophies.

Despite fading in recent years, the arrival of Jurgen Klopp in 2015 revived the club.

The German manager guided Liverpool to close Champions League finals and has seen them stay competitive with Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City in domestic leagues.

In each of the previous four seasons, Guardiola had won the League Cup (Carabao Cup) from 2017-18 to 2020-21. However, the pattern was broken this season.

liverpool carabao cup celebrations 280222

Liverpool were close to winning a quadruple but they lost the title to Man City. Photo: Eurosport

West Ham eliminated Manchester City from the competition in Round four.

Liverpool advanced to the championship game, where they faced Chelsea. The final was concluded on penalties after a scoreless game. 

In a rematch of the Carabao Cup final,Liverpool won this season’s FA  Cup, defeating Chelsea 6-5 on penalties after a scoreless draw claiming the second trophy in the 2021/22 season.

The Reds hoped to win a quadruple this season; however, their hopes were crushed whe Mancity beat Astonvilla to claim the Premier League.

What is a quadruple?

A club that has won a quadruple has won four league titles in a single season.

A team has won the quadruple if they have won a Premier League trophy, FA Cup, League Cup, and Champions League.

A real quadruple occurs when a club wins all four major trophies in a single season rather than over a calendar year.

A club can win four trophies and call it a quadruple.

Still, true contrarians and football elitists will argue that trophies like the FIFA, Club World Cup and UEFA Super Cup do not qualify for the ‘quadruple’ accounts because most of the population do not regard them as major trophies.

A ‘treble’ is when a club has won three major trophies in one season, and a double is when a team has won two major trophies.

Has any team ever won the quadruple?

The iconic quadruple is exceptionally hard — and has proven impossible in the Champions League’s modern post-1992 era.

Celtic of Scotland managed to win the quadruple in 1966-67. Jock Stein’s team won Scottish Cup, the European Cup, the Scottish First Division, and the Scottish League Cup, rounding out a bunch of major trophies.

They also won the Glasgow Cup, even though the significance of that trophy is debatable.

A team must win its domestic league, continental competition, and domestic cups.

It’s worth noting that teams from Spain, Italy, Germany, and France cannot win the quadruple under these conditions.

Manchester City EPL champions 1200x675 1

Man City won the Premier League title on sunday to end the quadruple quest for Liverpool. Photo MARCA

These nations have one domestic cup competition, as opposed to England, which has both the Carabao Cup and the FA Cup. 

Bayern Munich won the unofficial quadruple in 2019-20 by winning the Champions League, Bundesliga and DFB Pokal.

Later, They proceeded to win the Club World Cup a few months later, giving them four titles but not the genuine quadruple.

Similarly, Pep Guardiola won six trophies as manager at Camp Nou in the 2009 calendar year: the La Liga, Club World Cup, UEFA Super Cup, Spanish Cup and Copa del Rey. 

However, he could not complete the quadruple in 2009-10, underperforming in the Champions League semi-finals while winning the Spanish Cup and La Liga.

Which teams have won the treble?

Manchester United’s treble is the most notable in English football. They included European success in their list of accomplishments, as they won the FA Cup, Premier League and Champions League in the 1998-99 season.

Manchester City became the first team in history to win the Premier League, FA Cup, and League Cup, all in a single season, in the 2018-19 season.

In their history, Liverpool has won two trebles. They managed to win the League Cup, the UEFA Cup and the FA Cup, in the 2000-01 season.

They initially won the league, League Cup, and European Cup from 1983-to 1984.

In particular, concerning Manchester United, eight other continental clubs have won trebles.

including the European Cup: Ajax (1971-72), Barcelona (2008-09 and 2014-15), PSV Eindhoven (1987-88), Bayern Munich (2012-13 and 2019-20), Inter Milan (2009-10), and Celtic (1971-72). (1966-67).

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Football