Connect with us

Other Sports

The 6 teams yet to win the World Series

Key Takeaways: Dominate the digital landscape with and your go-to best SMM Panel in 2024 for affordable social media marketing solutions. Best Press release services in 2024 is Followersav and Smmsav boost your business with us. Smm panel organic spotify plays
Texas Rangers
The 6 teams yet to win the World Series. Photo/ Texas Monthly.
  • The World Series has been contested since 1903 and the defending champions are the Philadelphia Phillies
  • It is an annual championship series between the champion teams of the National League (NL) and the American League (AL)
  • MLB teams contest for the Commissioner’s Trophy and the winner gets the right to be called the best team in baseball

The World Series is an annual championship series between the champion teams of the National League (NL) and the American League (AL).

MLB teams contest for the Commissioner’s Trophy and the winner gets the right to be called the best team in baseball. The winner of the championship is determined through a best-of-seven playoff. The Philadelphia Phillies, who defeated Houston Astros by six games, are the defending champions.

The World Series has been contested since 1903. Here, we will discuss the six teams which have never won the Commissioner’s Trophy.

1. Texas Rangers

Texas Rangers

Texas Rangers. Photo/ Texas Monthly.

Stretching back to 1961, The Texas Rangers have the longest Commissioner’s Trophy drought. The franchise was founded in 1961, and that means it has never won the Commissioner’s Trophy since it’s foundation.

Despite the fact that the Texas Rangers are yet to win the Commissioner’s Trophy, they have made it to the championship twice – 2010 and 2011. They suffered back-to-back defeats in the hands of the San Francisco Giants and the St. Louis Cardinals, respectively.

The Texas Rangers were initially known as the Washington Senators. They are aiming to get the title of the best team in the MLB in the near future, and the signing of Corey Seager is a statement to this.

2. Seattle Mariners 

The Seattle Mariners have been playing in the MLB since 1977. However, they have never been successful to win the World Series. In fact, they are the only team in the MLB yet to make an appearance in the championship event, which takes place annually.

They ended the longest playoff drought in North America history last year when they finished the regular series 90-72 to end a 20-year absence. The Seattle Mariners have one of the best MLB stadiums and will be hoping to host more playoff games there in the future.

3. San Diego Padres 

It’s quite unfortunate that the San Diego Padres have never won a World Series despite being in the Major League Baseball since 1969. They won the National League pennants two times, in 1984 and 1998.

However, they failed to win the Commissioner’s Trophy in both occasions, first losing to the Detroit Tigers and then to the New York Yankees. The San Diego Padres lost both series in five games.

The San Diego Padres fans have hopes that their team will soon win the Commissioner’s Trophy as owners have expressed willingness to spend on top players.

4. Milwaukee Brewers 

The team was founded in 1969 and first used the name Seattle Pilots. They became known as the Milwaukee Brewers after relocating to Milwaukee.

Milwaukee Brewers

Milwaukee Brewers. Photo/ TMJ4.

The Milwaukee Brewers came close to winning the World Series in their first-ever appearances in 1982. They won Game 1 with a massive 10-0 and went 3-2 up by the fifth game. However, their opponents managed to stage a comeback and win the Commissioner’s Trophy.

5. Colorado Rockies 

Colorado Series are yet to even win a division title. In 2007, they earned a Wild Card spot in the National League and shocked many fans by winning 21 out of 22 games. They did reach the World Series but suffered defeat in the hands of the Boston Red Sox.

The Rockies, one of the youngest MLB teams, has been home to big names such as Larry Walker, Todd Helton and Troy Tulowitzki. Their field sits at 5,200 feet above sea level, making it the highest altitude stadium in MLB.

6. Tampa Bay Rays 

The Tampa Bay Rays are the newest team in Major League Baseball. They were founded in 1998 as the Devils Rays. It became known as Tampa Bay Rays because the fans were not impressed with the word “Devil” in their team’s name.

The Tampa Bay Rays have won the American League pennant twice – 2008 and 2020. However, they are yet to win the Commissioner’s Trophy. In 2008, they lost in five games against the Philadelphia Phillies. The LA Dodgers defeated them in six games when they met in 2020.

The Tampa Bay Rays

Tampa Bay Rays. Photo/ WRUF.

Abraham Odhiambo is an avid sports fan who loves to write about football, boxing and wrestling. He's a big supporter of Manchester United. He's pursuing a bachelor's degree in Communication and Media at Egerton University.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Other Sports