Connect with us


PFA team of the Year: Man city and Liverpool dominate, Son excluded and is the Cheapest and Best SMM Panel company that provides advertising, marketing, and promotional services in 2024. Smm panel best Smm panel Smm panel best Smm panel casino Script Buy Casino Backlinks Buy Casino Backlinks Casino SEO
PFA Premier League of the year. Photo:
  • Six Liverpool players and three City players were chosen for the team, including Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, and Kevin De Bruyne
  • Chelsea and Manchester United are also on the Team of the Year, yet the absence of Tottenham star Son Heung-min sparked outrage on social media
  • Only two players on the list were from clubs other than the title contenders.

Liverpool and Manchester City have dominated the PFA Team of the Year for the 2021/22 season, with nine of the 11 players chosen representing the corresponding champions and runners-up.

Six Liverpool players were picked, three from City, one from Man United, and one from Chelsea.


PFA premier League team of the year. Photo: The Athletic

However, there was no room for Tottenham’s Son Heung-min, who finished the season as joint top scorers with Mohamed Salah.

The divisional XI included keeper Alisson, defenders Virgil van Dijk and Trent Alexander-Arnold, midfielder Thiago Alcantara, and forwards Sadio Mane and Salah. 

Full-back City’s starting lineup includes Joao Cancelo, Kevin De Bruyne, and Bernardo Silva.

The only non-Liverpool or City players are Cristiano Ronaldo. And Antonio Rudiger, who has left the Etihad to move to Real Madrid,

The inclusion of more Liverpool players than Mancity comes despite the club winning the Premier League title ahead of Jurgen Klopp’s side. 

Liverpool finished a point behind City, who won their fourth Premier League title in five years after coming from behind to defeat Villa on the final day.

However, the Reds won two trophies, the League Cup and the FA Cup, and finished runners-up in the UEFA Champions League after losing to Real Madrid.

Salah and Son finished the season with a combined total of 23 goals.

After accumulating 13 assists, the Egyptian also won the Premier League’s playmaker trophy.

Mane finished the season with 16 league goals and four assists but is expected to leave the club for Bayern Munich.

After keeping 20 clean sheets in 36 appearances for Liverpool, Alisson was named goalkeeper of the Year, earning the Golden Glove alongside City’s Ederson.

Alexander-Arnold had another strong season, with 19 assists across all competitions, whereas Cancelo netted three goals and set up ten more to help City win the league.

liverpool PFA

Liverpool dominates the PFA Premier League team of the year with six players. Photo: This is Anifield

Rudiger was the standout player for Thomas Tuchel’s side, who finished third, 18 points behind Liverpool and champions Manchester City.

Van Dijk was a foregone conclusion for the PFA Team of the Year after proving his status as one of the best defenders globally with an outstanding season for Klopp’s side.

De Bruyne, who had 15 goals and eight assists, is merged in midfield by Thiago, a significant figure of Klopp’s team, and Silva, who had 13 goals and eight assists.

Ronaldo was chosen despite United’s poor season, in which they failed to qualify for the UEFA Champions League and finished with the fewest Premier League points ever.

The Manchester United leading goalscorer Ronaldo scored with 18 goals and three assists. Fans on social media criticised the exclusion of Son; one fan called Son’s exclusion a “disgrace.”


Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Football