Connect with us


What to know about the 2022 T20 World Cup and is the Cheapest and Best SMM Panel company that provides advertising, marketing, and promotional services in 2024. Smm panel best Smm panel Smm panel best Smm panel casino Script Buy Casino Backlinks Buy Casino Backlinks Casino SEO
T20 World Cup teams
What to know about the 2022 T20 World Cup. Photo/ T20 World Cup.
  • The 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be played in Australia between October 16 and November 13 2022. 
  • The tournament’s hosts, Australia, are the defending champions. 
  • The tournament, which is about athletic fielding, big-hitting and skilful bowlers, promises to be an intriguing event. 

The 2022 T20 World Cup tournament gets under away in the early hours of Sunday in Australia. 

The tournament, which is the eighth edition of the T20 World Cup, promises to be an intriguing event. The first edition of the tournament was held back in 2007 in South Africa.

T20 World Cup teams

The 2022 T20 World Cup will begin on Sunday. Photo/ T20 World Cup.

India were the first winners of the big cricket event. But they have never won the tournament again despite having several players who were there in 2007. 

The T20 World Cup has been happening every two years since 2010. However, there was a five-year gap from the 2016 tournament until 2021. 

Teams who have gotten their hands on the T20 World Cup trophy after India are Pakistan (2009), England (2010), West Indies (2012 and 2016), Sri Lanka (2014) and Australia (2021). 

The tournament was to take place in 2020. However, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced in July 2020 that it had been postponed due to the Covid crisis. 

The ICC confirmed in August 2020 that Australia would be the host of the rearranged tournament in 2022. The tournament was to take place in India in 2021. 

The 2022 T20 World Cup takes place less than a year after Australia won the tournament’s previous edition. The hosts have the home support and will do everything to defend the title. 

The 2022 T20 World Cup Format? 

The 2022 T20 World Cup will begin on Sunday with an initial group stage, which will decide the four teams to qualify for the Super 12s. 

Namibia, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates and the Netherlands are in group A. Group B has Ireland, Scotland, Zimbabwe and two-time champions West Indies. 

The first match of the tournament will be between Sri Lanka and Namibia. The top two teams from group A and group B will progress to the Super 12s, where they will find eight teams waiting. 

The eight teams progressed directly to the Super 12 because of their performances in the 2021 tournament and their rankings as of 15 November 2021. 

The eight teams are India, England, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Australia, Afghanistan, New Zealand and South Africa. 

Group A of the Super 12 has England, Australia, New Zealand and Afghanistan. Australia reached the finals of last year’s edition of the T20 World Cup. 

Group B has cricketing heavyweights India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and South Africa. Once the four teams from the initial group stages join the eight to form the Super 12, the teams in each group play each other once. 

The top two teams from each group will then proceed to the semi-finals, after which we will have a final on November 13. 

What’s New At The T20 World Cup? 

Cricket fans should expect to see new rules at the T20 World Cup as of Sunday. The tournament will implement the new playing conditions that came to effect on the first day of this month. 

One of the rules is that a team which will be slow with their over rate will suffer a fielding penalty. 

Where Are The Venues Of The T20 World Cup? 

The first match of the tournament will be played in Geelong in the state of Victoria, whereas the final will be played at Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne.

Melbourne Cricket Ground

Melbourne Cricket Ground. Photo/ Sportsmatik.

Other host cities of the tournament are Adelaide, Brisbane, Hobart, Sydney and Perth Glory. 

The semi-finals of the T20 World Cup will take place at the Adelaide Oval and the Sydney Cricket Ground. 

Who Are The Players To Watch Out For?

We will see the best players of the cricket game step onto the field during the 2022 T20 World Cup. But who are the players to watch out for? 

Australia’s David Warner, India’s Virat Kohli and Pakistan’s Babar Azam are among the key players in this tournament. 

Sri Lanka’s Wanindu Hasaranga, England’s Ben Stokes and Mark Hood, and Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan will all be crucial to their teams. 

India’s Suryakumar Yadav, South Africa’s Anrich Nortje, Australia’s Mitchell Starc and New Zealand’s Lockie Ferguson are also among the players to watch out for. 

Abraham Odhiambo is an avid sports fan who loves to write about football, boxing and wrestling. He's a big supporter of Manchester United. He's pursuing a bachelor's degree in Communication and Media at Egerton University.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Cricket