Connect with us


London Marathon history, prize money, winners and eligibility and is the Cheapest and Best SMM Panel company that provides advertising, marketing, and promotional services in 2024. Smm panel best Smm panel Smm panel best Smm panel casino Script Buy Casino Backlinks Buy Casino Backlinks Casino SEO
London Marathon Prize Money
London Marathon Prize Money. Photo by Runners World
  • London Marathon prize money is a key motivation for a dozen athletes
  • It started in 1981 courtesy of Chris Brasher and John Disley
  • It is the second-largest annual marathon in the UK

London Marathon prize money is a key motivation for a dozen athletes across the world who run here every year.

With its global fame, you can imagine how well it pays. It doubles up as it is the second-largest annual marathon in the UK after the Great North Run in Newcastle. British sportsmen Chris Brasher and John Disley are the brains behind it.

In 1981, the first batch of runners participated in the premier edition of the marathon. It always went down in April but was moved to October in 2020, 2021, and 2022 owing to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The track, which is generally flat, circles the River Thames. It begins at Blackheath and ends at The Mall. This marathon consists of several different events as follows.

  • A mass race open to the general public
  • Professional long-distance races for men and women
  • Elite wheelchair races for men and women
  • Mini marathon for athletes under the age of 17

However, it is the professional long-distance races for men and women that carry questions about the London Marathon prize money. Worth to note is that each category has a prize award.

London Marathon

London Marathon. Photo by REUTERS/Matthew Childs


For professional runners, getting in this race means your life can change in just 26.2 miles. The winner in the men’s and women’s categories respectively takes home.  $55,000.

Anyone who finishes the men’s race in under 2:02.00 can split the $150,000 prize pool.

For times under 2:03, under 2:04, and under 2:05, the amount drops to $100,000, $75,000, and $50,000, respectively. The monetary reward is $150,000 for women who finish in under 2:17.30, and the same applies to men.

Then, $100,000 is awarded to anyone who finishes in under 2:18, $75,000 for sub-2:19, and $50,000 for under 2:20.

The total prize pool for the wheelchair races for men and women also increased by $57,800 from $141,700 in 2021 to $199,500 in 2022.

Benson Kipruto bagged the London Marathon prize money in the 2022 edition. He ran the marathon in 2:04:24 ahead of Ethiopia’s Seifu Tura. The legendary Eliud Kipchoge won the marathon in 2018.


The Boston Marathon ranks as the highest-paying marathon at $150,000.That’s why internationally renowned athletes compete for an entry sport at this marathon.

Since there are so many elite runners from Africa, the prize money at marathons is crucial. They see competitiveness and the race against time as being more important than the atmosphere or views along the course.

Only the fastest competitors in the field are compensated with alluring prizes that make it possible to practise the sport professionally over the long term. The prize money can be greatly raised by breaking world records, course records, and time bonuses.

Besides the Boston Marathon paying the highest prize money, an athlete also gets a further $500,000 for breaking the marathon world record. This is a cardinal incentive that comes in handy by breaking any record in any of the popular marathons across the world.

Here is what they pay as prize money to winners.

  • New York City Marathon -$100,000
  • Chicago Marathon – $100,000
  • Tokyo Marathon – $98,300
  • Seoul Marathon – $80,000
  • London Marathon- $55,000
  • Paris Marathon – $48,536
  • Berlin Marathon – $38,829
  • Vienna City Marathon – $14,500
London Marathon

London Marathon. Photo by Olympics


While still on the London Marathon prize money subject, not everyone is eligible. There are a set of conditions you must fulfill before participating.

To begin with, you must be a resident of the UK and a member of an athletics club affiliated with British Athletics. In addition, you must have completed a marathon or half marathon with a time that qualifies you for the championship.

This elite event has been a part of the World Marathon Majors, a series of six of the best marathon competitions in the world, since 2006. Several athletes broke the marathon’s record seven times.

Among them is Eliud Kipchoge who is a four-time champion. Other record breakers include:

  1. Khalid Khannouchi
  2. Jepkosgei Keitany
  3. Paula Radcliffe
  4. Marcel Hug

From 2023, the race will revert to normal timing in the spring which is in April.

Teresa is a journalist with years of experience in creating web content. She is a wanderlust at heart, but an outgoing sports writer with focus on tennis, athletics, football, motorsports and NBA.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Athletics