Motor Sports

Carl ‘Flash’ Tundo wins Rally of Tanzania to extend ARC lead


Driving a VW Polo R5, Kenyan rally star Carl ‘Flash’ Tundo navigated by Timothy Jessop secured his maiden victory at the Rally of Tanzania over the weekend to extend his lead on the FIA African Rally Championship (ARC) standings.

Tundo moved to 60 points on top of the ARC standings, opening up an 11 point gap ahead of his closest competitor. Tundo followed this performance up from the two previous commendable results, having won the Equator Rally in Naivasha in April before finishing ninth at the Safari Rally last month.

On his way to victory in Tanzania, Tundo beat compatriot Karan Patel who was cruising in a Ford Fiesta R5 and Ugandan reigning champion Yasin Nasser in his Subaru to the podium. Tundo and Karan won five stages apiece in an event that was organised by Automobile Association of Tanzania.

South African Guy Boltteril came fourth and as such loses the joint lead he had shared with Tundo prior to Tanzania.

WRC/FIA Rally Star Program youngster Jeremy Wahome navigated by Victor Okundi finished fifth, building on to a second career event having made his debut with a 16th spot placing at the WRC Safari Rally.

Another WRC/FIA Rally Star Program driver McRae Kimathi navigated by Shameer Yusuf in a Ford Fiesta R3 came 13th overall in a time of 02:35:27.

The FIA Rally Star is a programme designed to showcase the talent and determination of the Candidates. The program currently has three drivers including McRae, Wahome and Hamza Anwar.

Issa Amwari of Kenya finished sixth navigated former Two Wheel Champion Dennis Mwenda. The top Tanzanian was Gurpal Sandhu in 7th position navigated by Dave Sihoka in a Mitsubishi Evo X.

TOP 10 Results

  1. Carl Tundo/Tim Jessop KEN KEN (VW Polo R5) 02:07:36

2 Karan Patel/Tauseef Khan KEN KEN (Ford Fiesta R5) 02:10:35

3 Yassin Nasser/Ali Katumba UGA UGA (Subaru Impreza 10) 02:21:33

4 Guy Botterill/Simon Vacy-Lyle ZAF ZAF 02:22:49

5 WRC/FIA Rally Stars Program Jeremy Wahome/Victor Okundi KEN KEN (Ford Fiesta R3) 02:22:58

6  Issa Amwari/Dennis Mwenda KEN KEN (Evolution X) 02:23:42

7  Gurpal Sandhu /Dave Sihoka TZA TZA (Mitsubishi Evolution X) 02:26:14

8 Gurjit Dhani /Riyaz Ismail TZA KEN (Skoda Proto 10 )02:27:24

9  Nikhil Sachania Deep Patel KEN KEN (Mitsubishi Evolution X) 02:29:34

10 Mandeep Dhani /Awadh Bafadhil TZA TZA (Subaru Impreza) 02:30:1

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

SEO SMM Panel Buy Instagram Verification Badge Instagram Verification

Sports Leo is the most trusted source of Sports News from across the continent. We are Africa’s leading sports news site for matches, sports updates, live scores, fixtures and highlights. Readers of SportsLeo come from all walks of life and they are united by one single thing. The love for sports. As Africa’s leading source for Sports, our readers attain insight on the lives of players, locker room and dressing room dramatics, news as they relate to specific sports, and of course betting tips.

For the latest news in sports, scores and more, sign up to our newsletter!


Copyright © 2022 Sports Leo.

To Top

For the latest news in sports, scores and more, sign up to our newsletter!