Connect with us


Pieter-Steph du Toit wins SA Rugby player of the year

cara membuat situs judi online gacor di, how create online casino website visit Dominate the digital landscape with and your go-to best SMM Panel in 2024 for affordable social media marketing solutions. Best Press release services in 2024 is Followersav and Smmsav boost your business with us. best Smm panel organic spotify plays
Pieter-Steph du Toit wins SA Rugby player of the year - Sports Leo

Pieter-Steph du Toit capped off phenomenal 2019 season when he added the prestigious SA Rugby Player of the Year award to his World Rugby Player of the Year accolade.

Rassie Erasmus and the Springboks were also honoured for a brilliant 2019, in which they won the Rugby World Cup (RWC) and Rugby Championship, as well as the World Rugby Awards for Coach and Team of the Year, by walking away with the same awards in South Africa.

The 27-year-old Du Toit beat Damian de Allende, Cheslin Kolbe, Makazole Mapimpi and Duane Vermeulen to the top individual award in South African rugby.

In the process, the Springbok loose-forward became only the third player, behind Naas Botha and Bryan Habana, to take the title for a third time, after he also won it in 2016 and 2018.

Mark Alexander, president of SA Rugby, congratulated all the winners for their contribution to a memorable 2019 season in South Africa.

“Pieter-Steph led the charge for the Springboks and he deserves this accolade to go with his World Player of the Year Award,” said Alexander.

“The 2019-season will be ingrained in our memories for decades to come, thanks to Rassie, Siya and the Springboks, but all our national teams did well and we are proud of all the winners.

“At franchise and provincial level, we also saw an upward surge which bodes well for the forthcoming season. Congratulations to all the winners and to all our teams, coaches and players across all levels here in South Africa, best of luck for the 2020 season – may we continue to spread hope and happiness.”

Other big winners from the Boks’ RWC squad included Herschel Jantjies (Young Player of the Year) and Handré Pollard (Super Rugby Player of the Year).

The 23-year-old Jantjies, who played in 10 of Boks’ Tests in2019, arrived on the international scene like a bullet train, scoring a brace of tries in his Test debut against the Wallabies in Johannesburg, as well as a crucial five-pointer in the drawn Test against New Zealand in Wellington.

Pollard, the top points’ scorer at the RWC in Japan, walked away with the award for Super Rugby Player of the Year. His 194 season points were the most in 2019 as the Springbok pivot helped steer the Bulls to the quarterfinals.

Springbok Sevens Player of the Year, Siviwe Soyizwapi, had a stellar year for the Blitzboks, finishing the 2018/19 season as leading try-scorer and playing in all 10 tournaments. He took over the captaincy from injured Philip Snyman halfway through the season and in that capacity lifted trophies in Vancouver and Singapore.

Junior Springbok Player of the Year, Jaden Hendrikse, was a key figure in the SA Under-20s’ 2019 World Rugby Under-20 Championship campaign in Argentina, with his accurate goal-kicking and play-making abilities earning him a regular place in the starting lineup.

His consistently effective displays also earned him a nomination for the breakthrough player of the tournament award.

Aseza Hele (No 8), the Springbok Women’s Achiever of the Year, was a key figure for the national team with her powerful presence and hard running setting the field alight – skills that proved valuable in the team’s qualification for the 2021 Women’s Rugby World Cup in New Zealand.

Livewire hooker Joseph Dweba was a standout for the Free State Cheetahs as they won the Currie Cup and was deservedly named Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year, while Cody Basson, tough-as-nails loose-forward of the Griffons won the Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year Award.

Aimee Barrett-Theron was named the Referee of the Year. She took charge of six Test matches in 2019, which included the opening match of the Women’s Six Nations, where she will again be in action in February.

The Club Player of the Year was won for a record third time by the evergreen Leon du Plessis of Rustenburg Impala and Dylan Alexander of Western Province was the Craven Week Player of the Tournament for 2019.

In a new category, SA Wheelchair Rugby (SAWR) was named as the first recipient of the award for SA Rugby Associate Member of the Year.

List of winners:

SA Rugby Player of the Year: Pieter-Steph du Toit

SA Rugby Young Player of the Year: Herschel Jantjies

Team of the Year: Springboks

Coach of the Year: Rassie Erasmus

Junior Springbok Player of the Year: Jaden Hendrikse

Springbok Sevens Player of the Year: Siviwe Soyizwapi

Super Rugby Player of the Tournament: Handré Pollard (Bulls)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year: Joseph Dweba (Free State Cheetahs)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year: Cody Basson (Griffons)

SuperSport Rugby Challenge Player of the Year: George Whitehead (Griquas)

SA Rugby Associate Member of the Year: SA Wheelchair Rugby (SAWR)

Referee of the Year: Aimee Barrett-Theron

Springbok Women’s Achiever of the Year: Aseza Hele

Craven Week Player of the Tournament: Dylan Alexander (DHL WP)

Club Player of the Year: Leon du Plessis (Rustenburg Impala)

In partnership with ANA and Sports Leo

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Rugby