Connect with us


Northern Cape name new recruits in T20 competition

Key Takeaways: Dominate the digital landscape with and your go-to best SMM Panel in 2024 for affordable social media marketing solutions. Best Press release services in 2024 is Followersav and Smmsav boost your business with us. Smm panel organic spotify plays
Northern Cape Cricket name squad for Provincial T20 competition - Sports Leo

Northern Cape Cricket on Tuesday named new recruits Clyde Fortuin and Beyers Swanepoel in their squad to take part in the Cricket South Africa (CSA) Provincial T20 competition which starts this weekend.

Northern Cape will be hosting Pool B at their Kimberley headquarters. The other competing teams in this section are KZN Inland, Eastern Province, Boland and South Western Districts.

Willowmoore Park in Benoni will host Pool A, while Pool C will be played at Senwes Park in Potchefstroom.

Fortuin has been playing for the Warriors franchise for the last couple of seasons and was earmarked as one of South Africa’s best batsman/wicketkeeper prospects when he had a stand-out series for SA Under-19 against England in the 2012/13 season.

Swanepoel, a promising fast bowler, made his first-class debut for Free State last season, taking 17 wickets in five matches, and was impressive in the colours of the USSA XI during the recent triangular which also involved the SA and Sri Lanka Emerging squads.

The experienced Aubrey Swanepoel will captain the Northern Cape squad, which also includes recently-capped SA Under-19 player Andrew Louw.

“I am happy with the mix of youth and experience in our squad,” said head coach JP Triegaardt.  “The four franchise players will bring good form and experience, while our younger brigade includes Andrew Louw and 21-year-old Beyers Swanepoel.

“We are looking forward to the competition. We have the home ground advantage and I call on our fans to come out and support our boys.”

Northern Cape squad: Aubrey Swanepoel (capt), Ottneil Baartman, Desmond de Koker, Clyde Fortuin, Patrick Kruger, Andrew Louw, Temba Maupa, Kagisho Mohale, Obus Pienaar, Farhaan Sayanvala, Blake Schraader, Jacques Snyman, Beyers Swanepoel.

In partnership with ANA and Sports Leo

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Cricket