Former Stormers lock Jean Kleyn in Ireland’s RWC squad

Jean Kleyn named in Ireland's 2019 Rugby World Cup squad to Japan - Sports Leo

Former Western Province and Stormers lock Jean Kleyn has been named in Ireland’s RWC squad.

Kleyn qualified for Ireland through residency earlier. Since then he has been capped twice for Ireland.

Lock Quinn Roux, Kleyn’s former Western Province teammate (they were in the same squad in the 2012 season), was among the unlucky ones not to crack the nod. He has seven Ireland caps.

The other SA-born player in the squad is former SA Under-20 loose forward CJ Stander. He has been one of Ireland’s stand-out players in recent seasons and has been capped 32 times.

Ireland’s RWC squad, Forwards: Rory Best (captain), Tadhg Beirne, Jack Conan, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy, Dave Kilcoyne, Iain Henderson, Jean Kleyn, Peter O’Mahony, Andrew Porter, Rhys Ruddock, James Ryan, John Ryan, Niall Scannell, CJ Stander, Josh van der Flier
Backs: Bundee Aki, Joey Carbery, Jack Carty, Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Robbie Henshaw, Rob Kearney, Jordan Larmour, Luke McGrath, Conor Murray, Garry Ringrose, Jonathan Sexton, Jacob Stockdale

In partnership with ANA and Sports Leo

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

SEO SMM Panel Buy Instagram Verification Badge Instagram Verification

The Latest

Sports Leo is the most trusted source of Sports News from across the continent. We are Africa’s leading sports news site for matches, sports updates, live scores, fixtures and highlights. Readers of SportsLeo come from all walks of life and they are united by one single thing. The love for sports. As Africa’s leading source for Sports, our readers attain insight on the lives of players, locker room and dressing room dramatics, news as they relate to specific sports, and of course betting tips.

For the latest news in sports, scores and more, sign up to our newsletter!


Copyright © 2022 Sports Leo.

To Top

For the latest news in sports, scores and more, sign up to our newsletter!