Connect with us


Five Manchester United Players Nominated For Premier League Awards

Four Manchester United players and Manager Ole Gunnnar Solskjaer have been nominated in all four categories of the Premier League’s end-of-season awards for 2020/21.

The shortlists for each of the fan-voted prizes were revealed yesterday June 1 (Tuesday), just over a week after the top-flight campaign was brought to a close.


Manchester United’s Portuguese midfielder Bruno Fernandes celebrates scoring during the English Premier League football match between Newcastle United and Manchester United at St James’ Park in Newcastle (Photo by ALEX PANTLING/POOL/AFP via Getty Images)

Eight players have been nominated in total, including United’s Portuguese playmaker Bruno Fernandes.

In his first full campaign with the Reds, the 26-year-old notched 18 Premier League goals, which was more than any other midfielder. He also registered 12 assists to play an integral part in us securing a second-placed finish.

Bruno is up against Ruben Dias, Kevin De Bruyne (both Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool) and Tomas Soucek (West Ham). Public votes will be combined with those of 20 club captains and a panel of football experts to decide the winner.


Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is one of five names bidding to succeed Jurgen Klopp as the Premier League’s top coach. The Norwegian oversaw an improved campaign for United, with our final tally of 74 points being eight points up on each of the previous two seasons.

Pep Guardiola, Marcelo Bielsa, David Moyes and Brendan Rodgers have also been nominated.


United have three nominees in this category, which consists of all nine monthly winners. Fernandes’s strike against Everton at Old Trafford is therefore included, as is Edison Cavani’s recent 40-yard lob versus Fulham, on the day supporters returned to the Theatre of Dreams. Jesse Lingard is in the list too, as a West Ham player, for his stunning individual goal against Wolves.

Photo Courtesy: EPL

Cavani got a particularly loud cheer from those inside the ground ahead of their first chance at seeing the veteran in the flesh. He soon got an even louder one.

The 34-year-old rewarded them with an incredible strike just 15 minutes in.

Bruno Fernandes looked to have got a slight touch on David De Gea’s ball from the back and Cavani clipped a stunning 35-yard effort over Alphonse Areola in front of the Stretford End.

The remainder of the shortlist features efforts by James Maddison (Leicester), Manuel Lanzini (West Ham), Ola Aina (Fulham), Sebastien Haller (West Ham), Salah (Liverpool) and Erik Lamela (Tottenham).


This award, which was inaugurated last term when Trent-Alexander Arnold won, is given to the outstanding player aged 23 or younger in the Premier League. Marcus Rashford, who still qualifies having celebrated his 23rd birthday in October, registered the most goal involvements of any of the nominees, with 20 across his 37 top-flight appearances.

Rashford will compete with Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Dias (Manchester City), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Illan Meslier (Leeds), Mount (Chelsea), Declan Rice (West Ham) and Bukayo Saka (Arsenal).

The polls for all the above awards will close on Thursday June 3rd with the winners expected to be announced on Saturday.


I am a Multimedia Journalist with five years of experience from Digital to Broadcast Media{Radio and Television}. Interested in reporting Current affairs happenings within and across the borders. I have excellent attitude towards working with others and communication skills extremely patient and persistent with the ability to formulate unique ideas and hand eye co-ordination. Ability to work under minimal supervision, curious, hardworking and polite. In another life I am a News Anchor and Reporter.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Football