Connect with us


Athletics SA name preliminary team for World Champs is the Cheapest and Best SMM Panel company that provides advertising, marketing, and promotional services in 2024. is best Buy Cheap Followers and Likes at the best rates globally. and is the best buy casino script in 2024. Smm panel Smm panel Online Casino Script Online Casino Script
Caster Semenya to participate in Doha - Sports Leo

Three groups of athletes have been included as part of an extended preliminary team announced on Monday by Athletics SA (ASA) for the IAAF World Athletics Championships to be held in Doha, Qatar from September 27 to October 6.








A total of 40 athletes who have achieved the qualifying standards in their events have been included in the provisional squad, and they have been split into two groups, with 30 individuals who have met all the criteria and 10 others who have not yet secured their places in the final team.

A third group of 13 athletes who are knocking on the door of the qualifying standards in their disciplines have also been named. Caster Semenya (800m), whose inclusion in the final team will depend on the outcome of an appeal at the Swiss Supreme Court.

With the preliminary team expected to increase in size as the international season gains momentum, the squad is already packed with elite stars including defending world champions Luvo Manyonga (long jump), Wayde van Niekerk (400m) – whose participation will need to be approved by the ASA board as he missed this year’s national championships.

ASA has appointed Hendrick Ramaala to oversee the preparation of the national marathon team, with Paul Gorries retaining his place as the squad’s relay coach.

Several athletes could be included later, subject to board approval. There are athletes who have not achieved the qualifying standard and they will be monitored during qualification period which end September 6.

Premininary team and relay squads:

1 Akani Simbine (AGN): 100m/200m/4x100m

2 Simon Magakwe MAGAKWE (WPA): 100m/4x100m

3 Thapelo Phora (AGN): 400m/4x400m AGN

4 Tshepo Tshite (AGN): 800m AGN

5 Stephen Mokoka (AGN): Marathon AGN

6 Desmond Mokgobu (CGA): Marathon

7 Benedict Moeng (AGN): Marathon

8 David Manja (ACNW): Marathon

9 Antonio Alkana (WPA): 110mh

10 Ruan de Vries (AGN): 110mh

11 Lindsey Hanekom (AGN): 400mh

12 Wayne Snyman( AGN): 20km RW

13 Marc Mundell (KZNA): 50km RW

14 Luvo Manyonga (EPA) Long Jump

15 Ruswahl Samaai (BOL): Long Jump

16 Orazio Cremona (CGA): Short Put

17 *Caster Semenya (AGN): 800m

18 Zeney van der Walt (AGN): 400mh

19 Dominique Scott (WPA): 10 000m

4x100m relay squad, Men:

20 Thando Dlolo (ACNW)

Akani Simbine (WPA):

21 Emile Erasmus (AGN)

22 Chederick van Wyk  (ACNW)

23 Sinesipho Dambile (AGN)

24 Anaso Jobadwana (KZNA)

4x400m relay squad, Men:

25 Gardeo Isaacs (BOLA)

26 Ranti Dikgale (AGN)

Thapelo Phora (AGN)

27 Ashley Hlungwani (AGN)

28 Sokwakhana Zanzini (AGN)

29 Pieter Conradie (ACNW)

30 Jon Seeligeer (ACNW)

*Caster Semenya qualify in 800m her selection will depend on the outcome of her Court of Arbitration for Sport appeal.

In partnership with ANA and Mediapix

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Athletics