Connect with us


Dolphins announce squad for 2020/2021 season

Dolphins announce squad for 2020/2021 season - Sports Leo

The Dolphins have announced a number of changes to their squad as they welcome in three new players and reward three players from within its provincial structure for the 2020/2021 season.

Coming into the Dolphins set-up from outside the province are two Knights players, Keegan Petersen and Ottneil Baartman, while young Northerns trailblazer, Ruan de Swardt, also joins the Dolphins set-up.

“Keegan has been a very consistent run-scorer across all competitions, to have a player of his calibre coming in to strengthen the top order is a massive boost and adds to the depth we have in our squad,” Strydom said.

Petersen was rewarded with a call-up to the SA squad for their recent Test series against England.

Baartman has made the step up from semi-professional cricket to franchise level well and stood out for the Knights in their recent Momentum One Day Cup campaign as he finished as the side’s third-highest wicket-taker in the competition.

“Ottneil has shown over the last season that he has what it takes at the franchise level and we wanted to give him a chance to play regular cricket at that level. He bowled well for the Knights in the recent One Day Cup and will add a good balance to our bowling line-up.”

The 22-year-old De Swardt has impressive numbers at semi-professional level especially with a batting average of 55 in First-Class cricket and 88 in List-A cricket.

“Ruan is a hugely talented young all-rounder and to be able to have him amongst our team is a massive bonus.”

The KwaZulu-Natal Cricket Union’s successful development program continues to produce future stars, and will this year see Lifa Ntanzi and Andile Mogakane graduate to the Dolphins franchise team.

The experienced Mangaliso Mosehle has also been upgraded to a franchise contract following his positive season at KZN Inland.

“Mangi played an important role for us behind the stumps in the 4-Day Series and has so much to offer so we are delighted to have him in the Dolphins set-up.

“Lifa has raw pace and Andile has all-rounder potential, we are really excited about the talented players that the KZN pipeline keeps producing,” Strydom added.

There are also a handful of players that will be leaving the Dolphins including Sibz Makhanya, Okuhle Cele, Calvin Savage and Lwandiswa Zuma.

“We want to thank these players for the impact that they have made at the Dolphins and with KZN Cricket during their time here,” CEO of KZN Cricket Heinrich Strydom said. “We wish them all the best on their new adventures.”

As part of future planning, stalwart Vaughn van Jaarsveld, has joined the KZN Coastal setup and will play an integral part as a mentor to some of the young batsmen coming through. Left-arm spinner, Smangaliso Nhlebela, has also been retained at semi-professional level and will continue to develop his skills for the different formats.

Dolphins squad: Andile Phehlukwayo, David Miller, Keshav Maharaj, Andile Mogakane, Cody Chetty, Daryn Dupavillon, Eathan Bosch, Grant Roelofsen, Keegan Petersen, Keith Dudgeon, Kerwin Mungroo, Khaya Zondo, Lifa Ntanzi, Mangaliso Mosehle, Marques Ackerman, Ottneil Baartman, Prenelan Subrayen, Rob Frylinck, Ruan de Swardt, Sarel Erwee, Senuran Muthusamy.

In partnership with ANA and Sports Leo

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Cricket