Connect with us


Napoli win first Serie A title in over three decades

Napoli Serie A winners
Napoli players celebrate after scoring against Udinese earning the 2022/23 Serie A winners. | PHOTO: Sky |
  • Napoli have won the Serie A title finally 33 years after last winning the Italy’s top flight
  • Napoli have won the Scudetto with five matches remaining to play in the 2022/23 Serie A season
  • The last time Napoli won the title was in the 1989/90 season when the late Diego Maradona captained the team to the title

With five games remaining in an exceptional 2022/23 season, Napoli have won their first Serie A title since Diego Maradona captained them to the title in 1989/90.

This season, Luciano Spalletti’s team dominated the competition in Italy, losing only one of their first 24 league games and scoring an incredible 65 points out of a possible 72.

Napoli’s overwhelming lead ensured that a somewhat shaky patch of form since early March meant little because the scudetto had already become a subject of when rather than if.

Napoli have dropped more points in their last nine league games than in the previous 24, but it mattered little on Thursday night when a point against Udinese was all they needed to make mathematically certain that Lazio and Juventus could not catch them.

READ: Napoli puts a price tag on Manchester United for Victor Osimhen


Udinese 1-1 Napoli Serie A

Napoli players celebrate after Victor Osimhen (centre) scored the equaliser against Udinese in a Serie A clash. The result meant Napoli are Serie A winners in the 2022/23 season. | PHOTO: Sky |

After being forced to a draw by Salernitana the last time out, Udinese took a frightening early lead with only 13 minutes on the clock. Victor Osimhen’s equalizer in the early stages of the second half, his 22nd goal in Serie A this season, delivered glory.

Maradona notably led Napoli to Serie A championships in 1987 and 1990. After declaring bankruptcy in the late 1990s, the team was relegated to Serie C1 in 2004. However, they have been a top-flight club since their return to Serie A in 2007.

There have been several close calls, including placing second to Juventus four times in 2012/13, 2015/16, 2017/18, and 2018/19. However, Napoli are finally the Champions of Italy once again.

Nathan Sialah is a journalist by profession with interest in politics, sports, cryptocurrency and human interests with 5 years experience in Radio and Digital Journalism. This has helped Sialah develop a responsible approach to any task he undertakes or any situation that he is presented with.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Football