Connect with us


Cricket SA promotes Sodumo and Gampu to first-class panel

Cricket SA promotes Sodumo and Gampu to first-class panel - Sports Leo

Cricket SA (CSA) on Tuesday announced the promotion of Abongile Sodumo and Mazizi Gampu to the first-class panel of umpires for the 2020/21 season.

Apart from the promotion of these two umpires the reserve panel is unchanged as is the panel of match referees.

Senior umpires, Marais Erasmus (ICC Elite Panel), Shaun George, Adrian Holdstock, Bongani Jele and Allahudien Paleker (all ICC International Panel), serve on the various ICC Panels.

“Congratulations to all our umpires on their deserved appointments for the approaching season,” said Jacques Faul, CSA acting chief executive.

“Umpires are central to the game of cricket and we are fortunate to have an extremely competent group of match officials.

“The promotions of Abongile and Mazizi are indicative of the successes achieved within the CSA Umpire Acceleration Program and the progress they have made since joining the reserve panel two years ago.

“We will continue to create opportunities for our umpires to develop through our exchange programmes with Australia, India and New Zealand.”

CSA First-Class Panel: Murray Brown, Mazizi Gampu, Siphelele Gasa, Lubabalo Gcuma, Shaun George, Stephen Harris, Ryan Hendricks, Adrian Holdstock, Arno Jacobs, Bongani Jele, Tom Mokorosi, Allahudien Paleker, Dennis Smith, Abdoellaah Steenkamp, Abongile Sodumo, Philip Vosloo, Brad White.

CSA Reserve List Panel: Lauren Agenbag, Rudi Birkenstock, Gawie Botha, Jannie Erasmus, Gladman Gaseba, Marlon Jansen, Kevin Lawrence, Sinethemba Mjekula, Bongani Ntshebe, Jurie Sadler, Godwin von Willingh.

CSA Match Referees: Shandre Fritz, Devdas Govindjee, Barry Lambson, Zama Ndamane, Laurence Matroos, Gerrie Pienaar, Shaid Wadvalla.

In partnership with ANA and Sports Leo

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Cricket