Connect with us

Afcon 2019

Algeria, Senegal coaches to determine king of African football

cara membuat situs judi online gacor di, how create online casino website visit Dominate the digital landscape with and your go-to best SMM Panel in 2024 for affordable social media marketing solutions. Best Press release services in 2024 is Followersav and Smmsav boost your business with us. best Smm panel organic spotify plays
Algeria play Senegal in 2019 AFCON Final in Egypt - Sports Leo

When Algeria locks horns with Senegal at the Cairo International Stadium on Friday to determine the new king of African football, there will be a historic milestone whatever the result.

Djamel Belmadi (Algeria) and Aliou Cisse (Senegal) are competing for the Africa Cup of Nations title (Afcon), and one of them will join the prestigious list of African coaches who have led their sides to continental glory.









Over 32 editions of Africa’s showpiece football tournament, this is just the fifth final that sees two local (African) coaches at the helm of the finalists’ technical staff. This has only happened four times before.

In 1962 hosts Ethiopia, coached by legend Yidnekatchew Tessema, won their first (and only to date) Afcon title, defeating Egypt 4-2 in the final. Egypt were then coached by the duet of Mohamed El Guindy and Hanafy Bastan.

Ghana won the 1965 edition, beating hosts Tunisia 3-2. Ghana’s coach Charles Gyamfi had his second successive Afcon glory then, defeating Tunisian counterpart Mokhtar Ben Nacef.

Another Ghanaian, Fred Ousam-Duodu led the Black Stars to the 1978 title at home, defeating Uganda, led by local legend Pete Okee 2-0 in the final.

And in 1998, Egyptian Mahmoud El Gohary became the first man to win Afcon as a player (1959) and coach.

He guided the Pharaohs to their fourth title in Burkina Faso, defeating South Africa, coached by local icon Jomo Sono 2-0 in the final.

Overall, 11 local coaches have won 15 Afcon titles in the previous 31 editions.

Ghana’s Gyamfi and Egypt’s Hassan Shehata have each won a record three titles, with Nigerian Stephen Keshi being the latest to achieve that in 2013.

Either Belmadi or Cisse will join this prestigious list come Friday night.

In partnership with ANA and Mediapix

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Afcon 2019