Malawi football team begin preparation for Afcon qualifiers

Malawi football team begin preparation for Afcon qualifiers - Sports Leo

Malawi’s locally-based players have begun their preparation for their Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifiers in November.

The Malawi players have started training at Mpira Stadium in Blantyre. Malawi face Burkina Faso in back-to-back Afcon qualifiers in November.

Malawi coach Meck Mwase previously named a 32-member squad, including 21 locally-based players, ahead of the upcoming matches.

Speaking after the first training session on Tuesday, Mwase said his panel will concentrate on lighter sessions and observe the players’ fitness levels during the first few days.

“The players have stayed for so long without playing football, so we are taking them into a gradual process because we want to concentrate on their physical fitness levels,” he said.

“We have so far started with some jogging and other ball exercises. We will continue observing them before we start the actual game training sessions.”

Malawi are in Group B of the 2022 Afcon qualifiers alongside Burkina Faso, South Sudan and Uganda.

The foreign-based players in the squad will link up with the team during the International window, which runs from October 7 to 15.

Malawi squad:
Goalkeepers: Brighton Munthali (Silver Strikers), Rabson Chiyenda (Nyasa Big Bullets), William Thole (Be Forward Wanderers), Ernest Kakhobwe (Nyasa Big Bullets)

Defenders: Stanley Sanudi (Be Forward Wanderers), Peter Cholopi (Be Forward Wanderers), Gomezgani Chirwa (Nyasa Big Bullets), Precious Sambani (Nyasa Big Bullets), Hadji Wali (Silver Strikers), Nickson Nyasulu (Nyasa Big Bullets)

Midfielders: Chimango Kaira (Nyasa Big Bullets), Chikoti Chirwa (Kamuzu Barracks), Raffick Namwera (Be Forward Wanderers), Duncan Nyoni (Silver Strikers), Peter Banda (Nyasa Big Bullets), Chimwemwe Idana (Nyasa Big Bullets), Isaac Kaliati (Be Forward Wanderers), Micium Mhone (Blue Eagles)

Strikers: Foster Biton (Silver Strikers), Vincent Nyangulu (Be Forward Wanderers), Hassan Kajoke (Nyasa Big Bullets)

Foreign-based players: Limbikani Mzava (Unattached), Gerald Phiri (Baroka FC, South Africa), Richard Mbulu (Baroka FC, South Africa), Gabadinho Mhango (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), John Banda (UD Songo, Mozambique), Charles Petro (FC Sheriff, Moldova), Schumaker Kuwali (UD Songo, Mozambique), Chawanangwa Kaonga (TS Sporting, South Africa), Francisco Madinga (FC Dila Gori, Georgia), Denis Chembezi (Polokwane City, South Africa), Yamikani Chester (Las Vegas Lights, USA)

In partnership with ANA and Sports Leo

Get the Latest News, updates, Scores, insights and Betting Tips when you join the Sportsleo club
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top